The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you. (Psalm 9:9-10)

In biblical times, a person’s name had meaning. It told you something about their character. To know God’s name means to know his character. You may know a lot about God. However, you will not trust God or experience the peace of his presence till you know his character. An important characteristic to know about God is that he will never forsake anyone who seeks him. There is a difference between knowledge and experience. I can read a biography on a person and know a great deal about that person, but I will not trust them until I have a relational experience with them. Many have beliefs about God based on knowledge rather than experience. We will not experience God until we seek him. Until we seek not to know about him, but to know him. When we get to a place where we are desperate enough to surrender all to him, he meets us where we are. James 4:8 tells us, “Draw near to God and he will draw near to you“. To enter the presence of the King of Glory we must come on his terms. We must come to him humbly recognizing his sovereignty. Humility is the absence of pride. Pride trusts in and depends on me to solve my own problems. “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble” (James 4:6). When we are having trouble experiencing God’s presence, the culprit may very well be our pride. Am I looking to my way, or am I surrendering to his way? Everything, everywhere, everyone needs is found only in Jesus. A spouse cannot meet my needs. A fulfilling job cannot meet my needs. A prescription will not meet my needs. These things may ease the symptoms of our needs. But Jesus is the only one who can meet my needs and fill me up. He alone is the shelter for the oppressed. All I have to do is stop trying to meet my own needs and bring them to him. He will never abandon anyone who seeks him.

