Tags

I had a homework assignment last week, for a study on forgiveness, that required me to make a list of everything God had forgiven me for. I was writing my extensive list of every sin I could think of, and I asked God if there was anything else. His response, “I don’t know. I forget.” While we may have a long list of failures and sins readily available in our minds, God doesn’t have a list at all. He removes our sins as far as the east is from the west. In his eyes we beautiful, holy and blameless. We need to let go of our list of offenses we’ve commited. We are not our failures. We need to forgive ourselves and others the way God does and forget the offense. Then we can begin to see ourselves through our fathers eyes.

Think about how much you love your child. When you look at them do you think of all the bad things they’ve done? Do they have to do anything to earn your love? No. We see our children as wonderful and beautiful, and fall in love with them at first sight. We are only human and still fight a sinful nature yet we love our children deeply. How much more does your heavenly father love you then you love your own children. God is love, and he loves you perfectly. Dwell on how much God loves you until it goes from knowledge to experience. His perfect love will set you free from shame and unforgiveness.

