What do you think is the greatest enemy of God’s best for your life? Is it Satan? Is it some evil plan for your life that you just can’t break free from? What keeps you from embracing and running with God’s ultimate purpose for your life?

Let me share an experience in my life. I was in a bad car accident 14 years ago which resulted in neck and back pain. I went to an Orthopedic Dr., Physical Therapy, chiropractor, Pain Center, had acupuncture and got massages regularly. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. So I gave up and accepted my fate. I took ibuprofen most days and was okay with it.

Five years ago I started having migraines frequently. I was a stay at home mom with a two-year old. At one point I had a migraine for three months straight. Medication would numb it but I could not kick it. My Dr. said it was either my sinuses or a brain tumor. I had a scan on my skull to see if it was sinus problems and they were fine. Time to start including God in the situation. Up till now I believed God healed people through modern technology, but when that wasn’t working and the pain was too much I changed my belief and started praying for a miracle. Next was the neurologist. It wasn’t a brain tumor much to my relief!! He gave me a medication to take everyday to prevent migraines and one to take when they came. By this point I was tired of taking pills all the time and did not want to depend on medicine to keep me from migraines. So I started memorizing and standing on healing scriptures and getting my belief system in line with the word.

We figured out that the migraines were caused my a hormone I was on, so I quit taking that. I started working out at the gym, and after a few months my neck and back stopped hurting. Now I am virtually pain-free unless I do something stupid like ride a rollercoaster or carry my toddler on my shoulders. I do still have migraines a particular time of the month, and am believing for healing even from that.

I wrote all this to say. The pain probably was caused by Satan, or at least the accident which caused the downward spiral. However, I allowed it to remain as long as I could dull the pain through medication. As long as I could get comfortable it was good enough. It wasn’t until I was consistently uncomfortable, and medication was not helping that my life was disrupted enough to cry out to God. When I prayed, it wasn’t just to get back to the chronic neck pain I could tolerate. I asked for complete healing in my entire body.

The truth is Satan is defeated, and he has no power over us except what we give him. This doesn’t mean life as a Christian is a bed of roses. We will all face trials. We still live in a world where Satan does have authority, just not over the children of God. But in all these things we are more than conquerors, and God works all things together for good for those who are called according to his purpose. So if evil is not the greatest enemy of the best, what is?

Good enough is the greatest enemy of the best. For nine years I tolerated neck and back pain because as long as ibuprofen took the pain away it was good enough for me. It wasn’t until my life was completely disrupted and the pain unbearable that I threw away good enough to embrace God’s best for my life. His plan is to prosper us and not to harm us, to give us a future filled with hope. There is no hope in a future filled with pain and suffering, this is not his plan.

The enemy takes us all into murky waters in life. Are we content to stay confined in the boat as long as he doesn’t rock it too hard? I was content to stay in unchartered waters far from God’s plan for my life until I was drowning in a sea of despair. I hope you will embrace God’s plan much sooner, and defeat your greatest enemy – settling for good enough.

