Most days I wake up in the morning and think of all the things I did wrong the previous day. I look at all the improvements I need to make to be a better mom and wife. I focus on my failure with others- things I said when I should have kept my mouth shut. I set my resolve to change myself and not do those things again.

I spend time in the Bible. I beg God to change me. I cannot accept myself with these failures. I have to change! Daily I reject myself because I focus on everything that’s wrong with me, and I wonder why fear of rejection haunts me.

…Fix your thoughts on whatever is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me- everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you. -Philippians 4:8

This verse tells me to focus on what is true, honorable, right, pure etc. because what I focus on I will gravitate toward. If my focus is on everything I do wrong I will gravitate toward failure. If I focus on what is excellent and praiseworthy I will gravitate toward that type of behavior.

Paul is inspiring those addressed in his letter to practice disciplined thinking. I have a choice what I think about. I need to take every thought captive obedient to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5). I will not rise above myself until my thought life rises to a godly standard.

Establishing a disciplined thought life is especially challenging in the technologically advanced day in which we live. Silence is a rare commodity. We are bombarded by media which is overwhelmingly negative in its reporting. A minuscule percentage of television and radio shows broadcast what is pure, lovely, excellent or praiseworthy. If we spend 30 minutes in the Word each morning, yet four hours taking in secular radio or television, that is a 1:8 ratio of truth to secularism. Is this ratio showing up in our thought life? Do we have only one godly thought to every eight worldly thoughts?

No- we can’t sit and read our Bible all day. We are however instructed to meditate on the word day and night (Joshua 1:8). Our Bible study does not have to end when we close the book and dive into our daily routine. We can write a scripture down in a note card or post it to reread and meditate on throughout the day. Then peace will come and guard our hearts.

Lord guard our hearts against the bombardment of negativity in our society. Give us a hunger for your word. Help us to search out truth and meditate on it day and night. Help us to be disciplined in our thought lives. Draw us toward character which is Christ like. In Jesus name. Amen

