I am reading about David right now in the Bible, and I love it. I have much to learn from him. David was so humble. His humility was paralleled by Christ alone. He loved God with his whole heart. David had a heart of worship and he saught to exalt God in every thing he did. He was grieved at other’s misfortune even that of his worst enemy. He did not defend or exalt himself. Instead he trusted himself fully to God for protection and promotion.

It is painful to read the story about Bathsheba. I wonder what hope I have of living a righteous life if even David was not exempt from sin.

God gave David the desires of his heart. He told David, “I annointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul. I gave your master’s house to you, and your master’s wives into your arms. I gave you the house of Israel and Judah. And if all this had been too little, I would have given you even more” (2 Sam. 12:7-8). God wanted to lavish David with blessings.

David saw Uriah’s wife bathing on the roof, and he coveted her. He didn’t want to ask God for anything. He just wanted to take her for himself, and so he did. Bathsheba conceived a child and David would have been exposed, so he had her husband killed in battle.

“Now, therefore, the sword will never depart from your house, because you despised me and took the wife of Uriah the Hittite to be your own.” This is what the Lord says: “Out of your own household I am going to bring calamity upon you. Before your very eyes I will take your wives and give them to one who is close to you, and he will lie with your wives in broad daylight before all Israel” (2 Sam. 12:10-12).

God planned for David to have a good life. But David opened the door to sin, inviting in death, calamity, and strife which plagued him and his family until his death. It started with a lingering glance at a naked woman, and resulted in adultry. Then it escalated to the murder of an innocent man.

Sin tastes sweet initially. It intoxicates the soul and clouds our vision. This leads to even greater sin until we don’t even recognize ourselves anymore. We fade to a dim picture of the greatness that once defined us, because of a close walk with God and our reflection of his character.

