A few years ago, my relationship with God was like a roller coaster. I was up high when I was at church worshiping. But the rest of the time I was down low under condemnation for every aspect of my life that was not perfect. I was in a cycle of failure and guilt. No matter how hard I tried I couldn’t move forward.

I decided to start serving in my church, hoping to earn God’s approval by good works. I ended up facilitating a support group based on the book Breaking the Cycle of Hurtful Family Experiences. For the first time I realized my view of God was skewed by my life experiences. False beliefs I was basing my spirituality on were exposed. Chains of bondage began breaking as my mind was renewed with the truth of God’s Word. God set me free from past hurts I didn’t even know I was harboring. I am constantly moving to new levels of intimacy with him. Peace, hope and joy are now a reality for me.

The most exciting part about it is I know God will do the same thing for everyone who seeks his will. It is God’s plan for his children to have freedom and joy.1 If we ask anything according to his will, we know that we have what we asked for.2 I have experienced God’s faithfulness in my life, and I can confidently tell others that he will do it for them. I can tell people there is hope when things seem hopeless, and there is healing where the pain is too great to bear.

I am grateful to God for showing me how his goodness affects my life. I know that he has a plan for my life that is better than anything I could hope for or imagine. I don’t have to worry about “finding myself” and choosing the right career, because God knows me better than I can ever know myself. God will guide me along the best pathway for my life.3 He charts the path ahead of me, and every moment he knows where I am.4

I don’t have to worry about my insecurities an shortcomings, because he who began a good work in me will be faithful to complete it.5 I don’t have to worry when God tells me to do something that seems to big for me too handle, because his power is made perfect in weakness.6

I don’t have to despair even when I am surrounded by tragedy. The God who created the heavens and the earth is more than able to restore any disaster. He causes all things to work for the good of those who love him.7 I don’t have to worry about protecting my family or myself, because God will keep us safe.8

God is mighty to save and restore what sin has damaged in my life and the lives of others.9 As Christians we have hope for every circumstance. Throughout life God is faithful to strengthen us, surrounding us with his unconditional love, he sustains us no matter how difficult the trial. In death we enter in to the awesome presence of God where his undying love will penetrate every crevice of our soul. We are more than conquerors in Christ.10 In every battle the victory is ours, because the Spirit that lives in us is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.11

I am thankful for my freedom. I am thankful that I don’t have to worry; I just have to trust. I am most grateful to God for who he is to me.

Footnotes
1 Galatians 5:1
2 1 John 5:14-15
3 Psalm 32:8
4 Psalm 139:3
5 Philippians 1:6
6 2 Corinthians 12:9
7 Romans 8:28
8 Psalm 4:8
9 Zephaniah 3:17
10 Romans 8:37
11 1 John 4:4
